Earl Benjamin award :: Ralph Vichill award :: Walter Geggis Balanced Man :: Others

Earl Benjamin Scholarship

The Earl W. Benjamin Junior Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a member of Sigma Phi Epsilon who is a junior of outstanding character with demonstrated financial need. The awards went to Austin Jarrett ’16 (VP of Member Development) and Ryan Bassaillon ’16 (VP of Communications).

Ralph J. Vichill Memorial Scholarship

The Ralph J. Vichill Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a member of Sigma Phi Epsilon of outstanding character, scholarship, leadership, and resourcefulness. The awards went to Henry Frye '15 and Tyler Andriano '15.

Walter Geggis Balanced Man Scholarships

In 1901, SigEp's founding fathers set out to provide an unparalleled fraternity experience. Ninety years later, at the University of Cincinnati Chapter, the Balanced Man Program was created to meet this same goal. The Balanced Man Program helps a SigEp stand out among the Greek community and other student organizations.

Built on five philosophical tenets of responsibility, development, accountability, ritual, and mentoring, this chapter-driven program provides a continuous development experience focused on scholarship, leadership, and life skills that complement a university's classroom curriculum. The refinement of these crucial skills helps our brothers succeed upon graduation and prepares them to achieve balance and satisfaction in every aspect of their lives.

The Balanced Man Scholarship is awarded to the scholar-athlete-gentleman who represents the Sigma Phi Epsilon ideal throughout their daily life. Incoming freshmen are reviewed by the scholarship committee, composed of brothers and alumni. They not only look at each applicant's paper application, but also consider their wholesome candidacy through a social interview process.

Our Fall 2014 Winners:

Trey Crumbley
Stephen Day
Brendon Frankel
Chris Gerazounis
Liam Hughes
Alec Hunsaker
Kieran McShane
Ezra Pak-Harvey
Zachary Schmetter

Other Recognition

2012 John S. Dyson Citizenship Award

The award was created to honor John S. Dyson ’65, a distinguished Cornell University alumnus of Alpha Delta Phi Fraternity who has shown an outstanding commitment to the Greek system, and is given annually as part of the A.D. White Leadership Conference. Winners are students within the Cornell University fraternity and sorority community who have exemplified exceptional leadership within the Greek community, and who have demonstrated a strong commitment to community service, philanthropy, scholarship, and citizenship. The 2012 Dyson Citizenship award was given to NY Beta member Jeff Choi ’13. A student in the College of Human Ecology, Jeff is headed to Stanford medical school next year.

Greek Awards Ceremony

Greg Mezey ’09 won the Outstanding Alumni Volunteer award this year for his service, and Gavin Taves ’15 (incoming chapter president) won the Outstanding New Member award. NY Beta won chapter awards for Outstanding Facilities Management and Outstanding Faculty Fellow Program.

The Tragos Quest to Greece

Inspired by the ancient Greek ideals of sound mind and sound body, the Tragos Quest to Greece provides an opportunity for undergraduates, mentors, and professors to experience Greek culture and contemplate the origins of Sigma Phi Epsilon. The idea that a balanced man requires a sound mind and sound body goes back to the time of Aristotle 2,600 years ago. The quest is a powerful overseas experience that is unmatched in the fraternity world as participants are stretched mentally and physically during a 10-day journey through Greece in mid-June. Each scholar prepares for the trip with multiple books, and various classic writings and plays. Once there, they get to see the very mountains and seas that serve as settings for these stories. The undergraduates are joined by alumni mentors and a professor who helps to lead scholastic discussions. In addition to the readings, other topics of discussion focus on personal experiences relating to SigEp’s core values. With a diverse pool of backgrounds, the group’s members challenge one another to think about their world differently.

Tragos Quest to Greece scholars are announced every February at their respective regional Carlson Leadership. Jacob Tallman '14 was selected by SigEp National Fraternity to attend the Tragos Quest to Greece this past summer. This year, Gavin Taves '15 and Edward Bylina '14 were Tragos Quest to Greece finalists.

Back to top